Discussion on “Draft National Education Policy (NEP)”

Home > Guest Lecture > Discussion on “Draft National Education Policy (NEP)”

The Research & Publications Committee of Pillai Institute of Management Studies & Research organized a Discussion on the Draft National Education Policy (NEP) – Imperatives & Implications on Saturday, 20th July, 2019.

Discussion on NEP
20th July, 2019

The Draft NEP 2019 was released on 31st May, 2019 by a Committee constituted in June 2017 by MHRD under the chairmanship of former ISRO chairman Krishnaswami Kasturirangan. This policy is mooted with a thrust to make the youth of India employable and so enable India to reap its demographic advantage and focuses on initiatives and action plans to improve school education, higher education and research.

The proceedings of the discussion at began with Chairperson RPC, Dr. Celina Joy welcoming the members to the discussion and requested everyone to actively participate in the deliberations.

The first presentation was made by Dr. C. K. Sreedharan. He gave a background of the NEP and shared some of the salient features of the policy, its brief history and the participation of a large number of stakeholders in its draft preparation.

The second presentation was made by Dr. C. R. S. Pillai who spoke about the salient features of the policy with respect to Higher Education. The Policy has a multidisciplinary approach to higher education and focused on accountability of educational institutions. Initiatives to support faculty development were also discussed.

The third and final presentation was made by Director, Dr. Satish Nair who shared some of the recent news articles in the Mint and DNA newspapers where “employability” is the key buzzword. He mentioned that one of the ways to make PiMSR ready for this revolution was to try for University status.

The members actively discussed and debated the various aspects of the policy and felt that the Draft NEP was a step in the right direction for India.

The discussion ended with a Vote of Thanks.

Members present

Prof. Satish Nair
Prof. C. R. S. Pillai
Prof. C. K. Sreedharan
Prof. Betty Sibil
Prof. Ashish Tripathi
Prof. Anjali Bhute
Prof. Shaheda Shaikh
Prof. Maumita Roy
Prof. Christina Shiju
Prof. Balashankar